GLINDE WITH THE WINDS OF TIME

Depression, my friend and yet you are my foe.
You hold my hand through my tortuous times
And sail with me through the wings of birds
And the smell of leaves.
You have known me for a long time and I understand your ways.
Through the blackness you walk by my side, holding my hand
And sleep with me on the coldest and blackest of nights.

Depression, I know you will never leave my side,
But many times I wish you would let go of my hand,
Release me and let me be.
To allow me to achieve my own personal goals.
To allow me to let go of the past
And to enable me to footprint the steps
To move forward with enthusiasm and joy.
We have known each other for a long time,
And you have been there by my side,
But I can no longer fill my heart with happiness
And plans for happier moments to return.

Depression, you are the deepest part of my soul, of my whole being,
And I don’t know how to release you from enveloping the darkness
And taking away the stars from my heart and my spirit.
I understand you, and know you will never leave me,
But please, release me from this infinite tunnel and spiral
of utter sadness and grief
As you have taken from me my spirit and my joy
And have left me lifeless and a walking corpse,
Breathless and lifeless with no joy and no future.

Depression, I know you will never let me go.
You will haunt me and wrap me tightly within your grasp.
And when I leave this earth, you will depart with me,
And I hope then you will finally release your hold
And allow me to be free, to fly with the birds
And glide with the winds of time.

 

Leave a comment